A subscription group contains multiple subscriptions with different access levels, prices, and durations so users can select the option that best fits their needs.
A user can only buy one subscription within a group at a time.
Configure a subscription group on IAPHUB
In order to configure a subscription group you must first create it on IAPHUB.
Give the group a name (can be edited at any time) and add the products to the group.
Configure a subscription group on Itunes
On itunes each subscription you offer must be assigned to a subscription group.
You should arrange your subscriptions in order from the one that offers the most (level 1) to the one that offers the least.
The order is very important because it'll determine if the subscription replace is an upgrade/downgrade or crossgrade.
- If the user change its subscription from level 2 to level 1, it'll be an upgrade.
- If the user change its subscription from level 1 to level 2, it'll be a downgrade.
- If the user change its subscription to another one having the same level, it'll be a crossgrade.
If the user has an active subscription, the user will be able to change its subscription (to a subscription of the same group) directly from the App Store settings.
The current active subscription is replaced immediately and the user receive a refund of the prorated amount of the previous subscription.
The new subscription will be replaced at the next renewal date.
A subscription crossgrade depends on the duration of the new subscription.
- If the new subscription has a different duration it'll be the same as a subscription downgrade, the new subscription will be replaced at the next renewal date.
- If the new subscription has the same duration it'll be the same as a subscription upgrade, the new subscription will be replaced immediately.
Configure a subscription group on Google Play
The Google Play Console does't have any "Subscription group" system. No need to create a group on the Google Play Console.
The IAPHUB SDK will handle it automatically based on the groups configured on the IAPHUB dashboard.
There is also no upgrade/downgrade/crossgrade concept, by default the subscription will be replaced immediately and the remaining time will be prorated and credited to the user (but it is possible to change the default behavior by providing a different proration mode to the IAPHUB SDK).